The Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust (DBAT) is overseen by a Board of Directors who are responsible for the management and administration of DBAT and schools run by DBAT. DBAT is accountable to external government agencies including the Department for Education, the Education Funding Agency and the Charity Commission, for the quality of the education provided by the schools and its management of public funds and it is required to have systems in place through which it can assure itself of quality, safety and good practice.

In order to assist in the discharge of these responsibilities the Board of Directors of DBAT appoints Local Governing Boards for particular schools. The Local Governing Board for Lydiard Millicent CE Primary and Ridgeway Farm CE Academy has been established to ensure the good governance of both schools and to ensure that the business of the Academies is conducted in accordance with their purpose and ethos. The people appointed to the Local Governing Board have connections to the schools and/or communities and churches they serve.

The Local Governing Board of Lydiard Millicent CE Primary and Ridgeway Farm CE Academy meet six times a year. It monitors progress, ratifies policies, plans future work and discusses issues relevant to the schools. Much work is carried out by sub-committees who give feedback at these meetings on the work they have carried out.

Sub-committees and working parties meet frequently to look at matters relevant to Curriculum, Staffing, Finance, Special Educational Needs, Site Management, Target Setting, Travel Planning, etc. In addition to this, individual governors are also designated a subject responsiblity and they spend itme in class and with teachers learning more about this.

Types of Local Board Members (generally called Governors):

DBAT Members – appointed directly by the Main Board of Directors;

Foundation Members – appointed by the appropriate Parochial Church Council in accordance with such Diocesan procedures as may be in place from time to time but subject to the prior written consent of the main Board;

Ex-officio Foundation Member – the principal officiating minister of the parish in which the relevant Academy is situated or, if he/she declines to act, a person appointed to act in his/her stead by the Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry in which the Academy is situated;

Community Members – appointed by the Local board with the consent of the Main Board, provided that the person lives or works in the community served by the Academy or, in the opinion of the Local Board, is committed to the government and success of the Academy;

Staff member – elected by employees of DBAT working at the relevant schools in accordance with such procedure as the Main Board may direct;

Parent Members – elected or appointed by parents of registered pupils at the relevant academies in accordance with such procedure as the Local Board may determine;

Principal/Head Teacher – the Principal/Head teacher of each Academy shall be an ex-officio Local Board member;

Co-opted Governors – appointed by the Local Governing Board these are people with specific skills chosen to help members with their responsibilities or as potential members to ensure succession planning. Co-opted Governors are not full members of the LGB and do not have a vote.

Who we are:



Governor Type


End of 4 year term

Voting Rights

Elected by

Pecuniary & Non Pecuniary Interests

Richard Coleman



(Staff Performance and Leadership)

Resigned December 2018




Mr David Cain

Chair of Governors

Pupil Outcomes Governor


Staff Performance and Leadership

30 August 2020



Self employment as Management Consultant since 1980.

Director of Ducklet Limited since 2006.

Chairman of Exeter Diocesan Board of Finance since 2010.

Chairman of Exeter Diocesan Property Services Ltd since 2010.

Director and Member and Finance Portfolio Holder of All Saints Church of England Academy since 2011.

Member (Diocesan Synod) of Bristol Diocesan Board of Finance Limtied since 2015.

Chairman of Exeter Diocesan Trust since 2010.  Trustee of All Saints Church of England Academy, Plymouth since 2011.

Custodian Trustee and Hon Treasurer of St Luke’s College Foundation since 2011.

Mr Stuart James

Vice Chair of Governors

Safeguarding & Prevent Governor



15 March 2021




Mrs Carly Luce*


Head Teacher

Staff Performance and Leadership



Ex Officio


Rev Tudor Roberts*

Collective Worship and RE Governor

Ex-Officio Foundation





Vicar of All Saints Church from 2007.

Mustard Seed Christian Bookshop, Marlborough from 2009.

Mrs Jeanne dos Santos




9 Mar 2019




Mrs Elaine Mills

Communications Governor

Ridgeway Farm Parent Governor


19 Dec 2021



Parent of child attending Ridgeway Farm School



Parent Governor Lydiard Millicent


Miss Joanne Lakin

Premium Sports Funding and Leadership and Wellbeing Governor


Staff Performance and Leadership (Chair)

6 July 2020



Parent of children attending Lydiard Millicent School.

Mr Peter Vernon




19 September 2022




Mr Luke Maddison




4 July 2018



Head, South Marston Primary School.

Mrs Victoria Burton

Vulnerable Pupils



1 Feb 2021




Lt Col John Blakiston




15 May 2021



Director of Nameco.

Vacant Position







*Statutory Positions due to post held


All Governor roles have a 4 year tenure (date of appointment is 4 years prior to end of term) except the ex officio roles where there is no start or finish.

For further information:

  • Speak to them in school
  • Leave a message at the school office or via the Clerk
  • Meet with the Chair and Vice-Chair before any full governing body meeting
  • Email the governing body team at

All Governor roles have a 4 year tenure (date of appointment is 4 years prior to end of term) except the ex officio roles where there is no start or finish.

Minutes of the Local Governing Board Meetings:

Wednesday 4th October 2018, please click HERE

Wednesday 17th July 2018, please click HERE

Wednesday 24th May 2018, please click HERE

Wednesday 21st March 2018, please click HERE

Wednesday 7th February 2018, please click HERE

Wednesday 29th November 2017, please click HERE

Tuesday 10th October 2017, please click HERE

Wednesday 5th July 2017, please click HERE

Wednesday 17th May 2017, please click HERE

Wednesday 15th March 2017, please click HERE

Wednesday 1st February 2017, please click HERE

For the privacy notice for school governors and trustees, please click HERE